All Sections

EE to double 4G headline broadband speeds to 80Mbps in 10 UK cities

EE’s 4G mobile broadband users will be able to get up to 80Mbps in Birmingham, Bristol, Cardiff, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Leeds, Liverpool, London, Manchester and Sheffield this summer.

The network upgrade will also double the average speed to 20Mbps and will double the amount of its 1800MHz spectrum available to 4G users, up to 20MHz.

The upgrade has already been trialled in Cardiff, where EE says headline speeds exceeded 80Mbps.

EE to double 4G headline broadband speeds to 80Mbps in 10 UK cities
EE’s 4G will be even faster this summer

Read more about 4G mobile broadbandEE boss Olaf Swantee said: “We are ensuring that the UK remains at the forefront of the digital revolution. Having already pioneered 4G here, we’re now advancing the country’s infrastructure again with an even faster, even higher-capacity network, and at no extra cost to our customers.

“Our double speed 4G network will provide developers with the quality and speeds needed to develop the next wave of killer 4G apps. Whatever innovations they come up with, we’re ready.”

In addition to launching services on its 800MHz and 2.6GHz frequencies acquired in the recent 4G spectrum auction, EE is planning to launch ‘carrier aggregation’ later in 2013.

This feature of the LTE-Advanced standard, on which 4G is based, allows users to combine available bandwidth from the 800MHz, 1800MHz and 2.6GHz bands to boost their speed and capacity.

It’s also planning to launch Voice Over WiFi for customers connecting via WiFi hotspots, and both voice and video calls using purely the 4G network instead of 2G and 3G connections. These will lay the groundwork for phasing out 2G and 3G so all of EE’s spectrum can be used for 4G.

EE aims to cover around 55 per cent of the UK population with 4G in 80 towns and cities by June 2013, and 98 per cent by the end of 2014.

It’s currently available in Amersham, Barnsley, Belfast, Bingley, Birmingham, Bolton, Bradford , Bristol, Cardiff, Chelmsford, Chorley, Coventry, Derby, Doncaster, Dudley, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Harpenden, Hemel Hempstead, Hull, Leeds, Leicester, Lichfield, Liverpool, London, Loughborough, Luton, Maidenhead, Manchester, Newbury, Newcastle, Newport, Nottingham, Preston, Reading, Rotherham, Sheffield, Shipley, Slough, Southampton, Southend-on-Sea, St Albans, Stockport, Sunderland, Sutton Coldfield, Telford, Walsall, Watford, West Bromwich and Wolverhampton.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *